About the Embroiderers’ Guild

The Embroiderers’ Guild of SA Inc was formed in 1965. The Guild was founded by a group of like-minded and enthusiastic people, to not only keep traditional embroidery techniques alive, but to provide a welcoming space for all levels of stitchers to meet.

Over time we have grown from the city branch with 12 members to now include 11 country branches with over 450 members. Our current premises at 16 Hughes St Mile End were purchased in 1987, It is the home for our extensive, (and wonderful), library and accredited museum. Various stitching groups meet at these premises during the week and our biennial exhibition is also held here. Groups include many styles of hand, machine and multi-media embroidery. Members are able to attend any of the groups for a small attendance fee. They also have access to the extensive library and other facilities the Guild has available. A Gift shop is available during office hours where handmade gifts and other necessary items are available for sale.

Formal classes, which are open to members and other interested people, are regularly held here with recognised tutors, based both locally and interstate. A stitching week with organised classes is held biennially.

In addition to 1 and 2 day classes the Guild provides longer programs to improve your stitching. This includes “Basics to Beyond”, “A Stitch a Month” and, for our junior embroiderers, “Jems”. A Certificate Course is provided for those interested in further developing their skills in their chosen area of embroidery.

In 2012 the Guild was accepted into the Register of Cultural Organisations which enables the Guild to accept tax deductable donations.

2023 / 2024 Executive Committee

Elections are held every year for the positions on the Executive Committee with members serving a two year term in office.


  • Mary Hall

Vice President

  • Carol Stacey


  • Lesley Grady

Assistant Secretary

  • Judy Szekeres


  • Margaret Baxter

Assistant Treasurer

  • Phyllis Coxhill

Country Coordinator

  • Di Kirchner

Committee Members

  • Jane Hyde
  • Valerie Keily
  • Lee Hein
  • Melissa Walker
  • Carol Robinson

Current Services Officers


  • Jean Horsnell

Education Convenor

  • Peta Stuart

Office Manager / Class Enrolments

  • Tracey Mepham

Gift Shop Convenor

  • Christine P Bishop

Trading Table Convenor

  • Sue Thornton

JEMS Convenors

  • Margaret Morgan
  • Josie Fuss

Certificate Course Convenors

  • Christine P. Bishop
  • Barbara Mullan

Awards & Membership Convenor

  • Diedre Clark

Basics to Beyond Convenor

  • Gay Sanderson

Digital Coordinators